Sketchup Sliceforms – Step 5 – Viewing the result

When the calculation is complete, the sliced torus is shown with copies of the flattened slices below:


Open Layers on the Window menu and make the various aspects of the model visible.

With the Flat-X slices layer invisible you can see just the Sliceform.

You can also make one of the slice layers invisible, so that you can see the Y slices for example.

Now make just the Flat-X layer visible and go to the Camera menu, choose Standard Views and then Top. Note how some of the slices overlap.


This is easily fixed, the two sets of slices are grouped so just move them so that they are independent.

 

10 responses to “Sketchup Sliceforms – Step 5 – Viewing the result

  1. I am new to this endeavor. What a wonderful discussion. One problem I am having: I designed a mushroom on Sketchup 8, consisting of a top which is about 2/3 of a sphere and a cylindrical bottom (stem) pulled out from the truncated sphere. When I run Slicemodeler, it processes the top and stem separately with the slots marked for each portion. This would require assembling the top and bottom separately and then somehow attaching the two sliceform models to make one.

    When I made a sliceform mushroom model with a much thinner top, Slicemodeler processed the top and stem as one so that the model could be put together as all one unit, which is preferable.

    Is there any way to get Slicemodeler to process the spherical mushroom described above as one unit rather than the top and stem separately?

    Many thanks for any insights anyone can offer.

    Richard

  2. I was wondering where you got the plugin “sliceform”. I found a plugin, but you have to pay for it to get it. I am wanting to do this and not have to spend any money on programs. Is there any way that you can post where you got the program, or could you email it to me? Thanks.

    • John Sharp (Sliceforms)

      I am puzzled that you haven’y found the Slicemodler Ruby plugin which does not ask for money. This is the first link I gave. Choose the A-Z list and find it in the list.

      • I found the plug in, thank you. Also, the svg plugin, what is the full name that it goes by, is it just “svg” or does it have svg and something else in the name of the script?

      • John Sharp (Sliceforms)

        If you look at the top of the post on using Sketchup, you will find a link to the SVG plugin. It puts a “Flight of Ideas” toolbar at the top of the screen. You will also find a link to Inkscape which you will also need to process the SVG as I describe in the latest post.

        I would strongly advise making the Sliceforms in the templates before attempting the Torus since it is more complicated.

  3. I am going to be printing the slices out and hand cutting them out. I was thinking about using the backs of cereal boxes as the median with which to print on. Do you think that this is a good surface to use and will it work well? What do you use that you find works best? Also, I was wondering how wide I need to cut out the slots that are in the pieces, is there a measurement that I am supposed to take into consideration, such as the type of median that I am going to be using?

    • John Sharp (Sliceforms)

      I am guessing that you have not made any of the templates, otherwise you would have read this post http://wp.me/ppq44-1u on how to make and assemble the models. This has a detailed description of cutting out the slots.
      I use 160 gm/sq m weight card.
      If you were to try to print on cereal packet card, I think you would break your printer.

  4. Hi John, Thanks for the tutorial. I am having trouble between this and the previous step. When I create the slices, it is fine, and I can see the slice form in Sketchup, but when I say yes to flattening the pieces, everything disappears. I see small text (X or Y with a number after it), but I no longer see the 3D sliceform or the flattened slices. Do you have any suggestions? Thanks.

    • John Sharp (Sliceforms)

      Hi James

      We have seen this before, but only no flattened Slices. I think that was with an early version of Sliceform modeller
      I would look to see if you have invisible layers.
      You don’t actually need the flattened slices to export the slices to SVG. The Flight of ideas exporter will give you a set of slices on the 3D model.
      Let me know how you get on

      John S

  5. Thanks for the quick response. It appears that even if I click no to creating a copy of the flattened slices, my original object disappears. Before I click Yes/No to flattening the slices I can see it, but as soon as I click either answer, it disappears. Is there a way to see which version of SliceModeler I have?
    Also, I installed the FlightofIdeasSVG plugin (and I have it selected in the Preferences>Extensions menu), but I can’t seem to find it (or don’t know where it is to use).
    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

